News & Press

On October 19, Tri-County EMC hosted its 84th Annual Meeting at the Tri-County office in Gray concluding the 2023 Board of Directors’ Election. A video of the meeting can be viewed here. Voting online or by paper ballot, over 1,500 Tri-County EMC members participated in their cooperative’s election process. Billy Jerles, Tri-County EMC Board Attorney, reported the following election results.

Incumbents Dan Greene (Post 1, District 1), Brenda P. Green (Post 1, District 2), and Sammy Hall (Post 1, District 3) were re-elected to serve three-year terms on the Tri-County EMC Board of Directors. The proposed bylaw change to allow for the board to set a “Record Date” for members to be eligible to vote in any annual election passed. The 2022 Annual Meeting Minutes were approved with a majority vote. (71511002)

Beginning her address, Brenda P. Green, Chairman of the Tri-County EMC Board of Directors, reported that the cooperative is in sound financial health and is in good standing with its financial partners. Green informed viewers that several factors will play a key role in improving the overall integrity of Tri-County’s distribution system, most notably the addition of the fiber project. “Our fiber project is nearing completion and provides the EMC additional system intelligence and operational capabilities,” said Green. “It also has provided us the opportunity for bridging the digital divide by leasing excess fiber capacity to our subsidiary, doing business as Tri-CoGo.” As announced in the cooperative’s Annual Report, Green reported that plans are in the works for a new substation to be built in late 2024 to support the growth in Lake Oconee. 

Green emphasized the challenge that Tri-County EMC faces with its single largest expense, wholesale power costs. “Generating and transmitting the power across the grid to our substations and to your homes is a complex and costly process,” stated Green. “The EMC maintains a diversified wholesale power portfolio to ensure reliability in the most challenging of times.” While the cooperative has little control over the cost of generating power, Green was pleased to report that Plant Vogtle’s nuclear Unit 3 is fully operational and Unit 4 is projected to come online by next Spring. According to Green, this alone will provide needed base load generation that will serve all Georgians, including Tri-County EMC members, for the next 60 to 80 years. Green concluded her message with a promise that the Tri-County EMC Board of Directors will continue to strategically plan for the long-term future of the cooperative by working together and staying informed on energy issues and trends.

CEO Ray Grinberg ensured viewers that the cooperative’s mission to enrich the quality of life in our communities remains. He touched on the cooperative’s commitment to its members through providing scholarships and grants that wouldn’t be possible without the generous contributions of members who participate in the Operation Roundup program.

Tri-CoGo COO Greg Mullis updated viewers on the status of the fiber project, noting that 25 of 30 zones now have internet available and almost every Tri-County EMC member will have access by the end of the year. Since the 2022 Tri-County EMC Annual Election, more than 3,000 members have had Tri-CoGo service installed in their homes.  As for the future of Tri-CoGo, the subsidiary is installing around 350 new customers every month. In addition, it is exceeding revenue projections and is expected to be cash flow positive early next year. Mullis reported that there is still work to be done. “We are certainly not at a point to drive a flag in the ground and declare victory,” said Mullis. “We look forward to completing the remaining five zones on the cooperative’s system and are grateful for the trust that Tri-County members have placed in Tri-CoGo to be their internet service provider.

To conclude the meeting, Communications Specialist Anna Smith drew names for bill credits to be distributed to eleven lucky winners. Members who cast their vote in the election were automatically entered for a chance to win. Tri-County EMC member Donald Rogerson won the grand prize of a $500 bill credit. The ten $50 bill credit winners are listed below. Thanks to everyone that participated in the election this year and be sure to vote in next year’s election for another chance to win!

$50 Bill Credit Winners

Kathy Kendrick
Geraldine Lankford
Linda Youmans
Candace Christian
Brandon Neff
Pat Patterson
Marilyn Phillips
Sheilah Hamilton
Vicky Brown
Allen Robertson

« All News & Updates