Tri-County EMC's 2022 Annual Meeting is scheduled for Thursday, October 20 at 2:00 PM at the Tri-County EMC office in Gray. The meeting will be live-streamed on Facebook and on tri-countyemc.com.

Director seats from Post 3 of Districts 1, 2 and 3 will be included on the ballot, as well as a proposed bylaw change and approval of the Annual Meeting Minutes from 2019-2021. Members are encouraged to cast their vote for a chance to win up to $500. Instructions on how to vote, via online or by paper ballot, are included below. 

All members that cast a vote in the election will be entered to win a $500 cash prize. Tri-County EMC is owned by its members, so member participation in the annual election is a crucial part of a successful cooperative. 


If you enrolled in online voting before August 25, an email with instructions on how to cast your vote was/will be emailed to you on September 20. If you did not receive that email, please check your Junk Mail folder and search for it using the email information in bold below. If it is not in your inbox or you cannot find your login information, click here to have it resent to you. Online voting will close at 5:00 PM on October 18.

From: Tri-County EMC Election Coordinator, mailto:noreply@directovote.net
Subject of the Email: Tri-County EMC 2022 election login information below

To enroll in online voting for future elections, click here. If you did not enroll in online voting this year, you will still have the option to vote online. Instructions will be printed on the paper ballot you receive via mail. 

If you did not enroll in online voting, a paper ballot was/will be mailed to you on September 20. If you misplaced your ballot, or did not receive a ballot, please contact Kim Broun at kimb@tri-countyemc.com or 478.986.8126 to have another ballot mailed to you. All paper ballots must be received by the cooperative by October 18, or brought with you to the Annual Meeting. Ballots can also be turned in at Tri-County EMC office drive-thru windows.

PROXY: (Voting in place of a member)
If you cannot attend the Annual Meeting and would like to designate another member to vote in your place, please use this form and have the voter bring it with them to the Annual Meeting. A proxy can only vote on behalf of one other member. 

LETTER OF AUTHORIZATION: (Voting on behalf of business, church, club or organization)
Any Tri-County EMC member whose account is listed as a business, church, club or other organization should use this form to designate a voting representative for the election. The form must be completed and notarized and returned with your ballot. 

If you did not receive a ballot via mail or email, contact Kim Broun at kimb@tri-countyemc.com or 478.986.8126.



Board of Directors, Post 3 Seats

  • District 1, Post 3 (Jones & Bibb Counties)
    Cecil Patterson (Incumbent)
    Click Here to See An Inverview with Mr. Patterson

    Cecil Patterson earned a bachelor’s degree from Mercer University, a master’s degree in educational administration from Georgia College & State University and a specialist’s degree from Clarke-Atlanta University. He worked for Jones County High School for many years serving as a high school coach and then as Principal of Gray Elementary School, which was named a School of Excellence in his tenure. He also served as Executive Director of Jones County Schools before his retirement in 2013. His honors include Citizen of the Year, All-American Baseball Player at Mercer, Hall of Fame Inductee at Mercer and Coach of the Year for nine years. He and his wife reside in Haddock and attend Adams Tabernacle CME Church in Haddock.

    Douglas G. Maddox
    Click Here to See An Interview with Mr. Maddox

    Doug Maddox has been a resident of Jones County for the past 55 years and graduated from Jones County High School. He has been in the utility business since 1985. Doug started his own business, Maddox M&R Testing, Inc., in 2002, where he travels all over the southeast to test, repair and calibrate natural gas meters for municipalities. In his spare time, Doug enjoys spending time with his family and friends. He and his wife, Julie, love taking their dog, Ruby, on road trips and getting together with their three kids and eight grandkids. He also enjoys hunting, fishing and gardening. He is a member of the Moose Club and attends New Haven Baptist Church. 
  • ​​​​​​District 2, Post 3 (Jasper, Morgan & Putnam Counties)
    Mike Rainey (Incumbent)
    Mike Rainey is a lifelong resident of Putnam County and owner of Briarpatch Farm. He graduated from the Georgia Institute of Technology. Mike has been in the farming community for 48 years – dairy farming for the first 30 and currently raising dairy cattle for other dairymen. He also maintains a herd of Angus cattle. He served on the steering committee for the Georgia National Fairgrounds and as a director for Georgia Milk Producers. He has also been involved with the Fellowship of Christian Athletes and the Christian Learning Center in Putnam County. Mike and his wife, Kathy, host numerous charitable fundraisers on their farm. Mike and Kathy are members of LakePoint Community Church and are parents to seven children and grandparents to 11 grandchildren. 
  • District 3, Post 3 (Baldwin, Wilkinson and Twiggs Counties)
    Marion Nelson (Incumbent)
    Marion Nelson earned his associate degree in Criminal Justice from Georgia Military College and has a bachelor’s degree in Biology from Georgia College & State University. He served as a ranger for the Georgia Department of Natural Resources for 34 years. He retired after 10 years as an Environmental Enforcement Officer with Baldwin County. Mr. Nelson serves as a director of Tri-County and is a volunteer with the Baldwin County Fire and Rescue Squad. He and his wife, Harriett, have a daughter and a son, and attend the First Baptist Church in Milledgeville.  


Proposed Bylaw Amendment:

  • Shall the Bylaws of Tri-County EMC be amended to add to the Bylaws “or emailed” in Section 4.06?

Nominations, Section 4.06
The Secretary shall cause to be mailed or emailed to the members with the notice of the meeting, or separately, at least sixty (60) days before the meeting, a list of nominations for directors, by district, to be elected at the annual meeting.


Annual Meeting Minutes Approval for 2019-2021

  • Do you approve the annual meeting minutes from 2019, 2020 and 2021?

2019 Annual Meeting Minutes
2020 Annual Meeting Minutes
2021 Annual Meeting Minutes