Tri-County Electric Membership Corporation Minutes 2022 Annual Meeting

The 2022 Tri-County Electric Membership Corporation Annual Meeting of Members was held on Thursday, October 20 at the Tri-County EMC office in Gray. It was also streamed virtually on Facebook Live and www.tri-countyemc.com/election.cms. This was the cooperative's 83rd Annual Meeting. Tri-County EMC Board Attorney, Billy Jerles, called the meeting to order at 2:00 PM.

Greg Mullis, COO of Tri-CoGo, led the members in the invocation and Pledge of Allegiance.

Brenda P. Green, Chairman, delivered the Chairman's Address:

- The cooperative is on sound financial footing and received a clean audit report.
- The fiber project allows Tri-County to increase reliability with faster power outage notifications and ability to reroute power from other sources. This also gives members the ability to get a fiber internet connection in their home through Tri-CoGo.

Ray Grinberg, CEO, delivered the CEO address:

- Tri-County EMC's mission is to provide safe, reliable and affordable electric power.
- Grinberg discussed the Cooperative's charitable giving through the Bright Ideas Grant program and Operation Roundup. He also touched on employee's volunteer time.
- Grinberg reiterated the importance of the fiber project. Like electricity met a need in the 1930s, fiber internet is meeting a need now.

Marion Nelson, Chairman of Tri-CoGo, delivered the Chairman's address:

- Nelson reflected on the board's research on the fiber industry and how Tri-CoGo came to fruition.
- The Board realized there was a need for fiber internet access in our area that was not being met.
- Nelson commended the Tri-County EMC and Tri-CoGo employees for their work on the fiber project.

Greg Mullis, COO of Tri-CoGo, gave an update on the fiber internet project:

- Mullis noted that only 17% of Georgians can currently get fiber internet, and most of that is in metro areas.
- Phase 1 of the project is complete, and Phase 2 is well underway.
- There are over 1,000 miles of fiber complete and 3,100 customers connected.
- Mullis touched on the impact fiber is making for customers and the entire service area as a whole.

BUSINESS SESSION: Conducted by Billy Jerles, Board Attorney

- Quorum was met through mail balloting with 1,851 total votes
- The Proof of Mailing certificate noted that the Annual Meeting packages were sent to members.

New Business:

- The 2022 Credentials and Election Committee was introduced, and their duties were described: Diana Simmons, Wendy Vaughn, Norma Hancock, Hank Raehn, Becky Sharp, Danny Blair, Frank Moss, and Ronald Cowan
- The 2022 Nominating Committee was introduced, and their duties were described: Laura Hardwick, Emory Crumbley, Brent Miller, Ken Farr, Carol Ann Guthrie, Joe Swift, Kevin Pope, Jack Brock, and Chauncey Keaton

 Jerles reviewed the minutes from the Nominating Committee Meeting and announced the candidates for the 2022 ballot.

Position	Candidates
District 1, Post 3	Cecil Patterson
District 2, Post 3	Mike Rainey
District 3, Post 3	Marion Nelson

• Doug Maddox of Jones County submitted a petition of 50 signatures, as per Tri-County EMC bylaws, to be added to the ballot for District 1, Post 3 against Cecil Patterson. The C&E Committee met to validate the petition. They determined there were 54 valid signatures. Doug Maddox was placed on the ballot in District 1, Post 3.

Election Results

• Ballot Item 1:

Approval of Annual Meeting Minutes 2019-2021

1,688 voted in favor of approving the minutes, and 16 opposed. The annual meeting minutes were approved by majority vote.

• Ballot Item 2:

Bylaw Amendment: Section 4:06 Allow for a list of nominated members to be emailed to members that request to receive electronic communications instead of only by mail.

1,576 voted in favor of amending the bylaw, and 157 voted against. The bylaw was passed by majority vote.

• Ballot Item 3: Post 3 Director Seats

Position	Elected Candidates
District 1, Post 3	Cecil Patterson (1,234 votes)
	Doug Maddox (478 votes)
District 2, Post 3	Mike Rainey
District 3, Post 3	Marion Nelson

- Steven Black, Tri-County EMC member, made comments about Electric Vehicles.
- The Business Session adjourned.

After that time, 11 ballots were drawn to receive cash prizes.

- The winner of a \$500 cash prize was Gaye Jones.
- The following winners each received \$50 cash prizes: Ida Sadler, Russell Young, Carl Primas, Ellen Moon, Shameria Mitchell, Carla Roberts, Jacob Harrington, Rick L.R. Prince, Frederick Stephen Uhler, and J.T. Gregory Jr.

Respectfully submitted,

Thomas Noles

Secretary/Treasurer