News & Press

Tri-County EMC is proud to present James Major Stanford of Putnam County with a 2022 Walter Harrison Scholarship. James Major is one of 14 winners selected from applicants across the state for one of this year’s $1,000 scholarships. This year, 77 applicants applied for one of these 14 scholarships.

The scholarship is merit-based, with applicants being evaluated on criteria such as GPA, SAT scores, academic standing, scholastic honors, community involvement and financial need. The scholarship is eligible to be used at any two-year or four-year accredited college or university in the state, including a vocational-technical institution. Applicants and their families must be members of Tri-County EMC and reside within the service area.

The scholarship is named in tribute to Mr. Walter Harrison, a pioneer in the rural electricity movement and leader at the local, state and national levels in the electric cooperative program.

Since 1987, the Walter Harrison Scholarship has awarded over $250,000 to 260 Georgia students, helping to ensure that students across the state have the opportunity to further their education.

Congratulations! We wish you the best of luck at Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College!

« All News & Updates