Tri-County EMC

Scholarship Programs

Scholarship Programs

Walter Harrison Scholarship: A $1,000 scholarship provided by Georgia EMC.

Each year the Walter Harrison Scholarship program awards $1,000 scholarships to high school seniors and undergraduate students attending any vocational school or two- or four-year accredited college or university in Georgia. More than $85,000 has been awarded since the program began. The scholarships are awarded on the basis of academic achievement and financial need.

Georgia's EMCs started the scholarship program in 1985 to honor the late Walter Harrison. Harrison was known in Georgia and across the nation as "Mr. Rural Electrification" for his pioneering efforts in the electrical cooperative industry and for his lifelong dedication to improving life in rural areas.

Students residing within the Tri-County EMC service area may apply for the Walter Harrison Scholarship through Tri-County. Applications can be downloaded below or may be obtained by mail upon request. Applications must be received by Tri-County EMC on February 10. For more information, or to request an application for a scholarship, please contact Kim Bonner at (478) 986-8126 or

Download the Walter Harrison Scholarship Application (.doc)

Tri-County EMC Cooperative Scholarship: Three $2,000 scholarships provided by Tri-County EMC.

Each spring, Tri-County EMC awards three $2,000 Cooperative scholarships to students residing within the cooperative's service area. One scholarship is awarded in each of the three Tri-County board districts. Applications are judged by an outside panel of education professionals based equally on academics, financial need and community involvement.

High school seniors and nontraditional undergraduate students are eligible to apply. Applications are available by mail upon request or may be downloaded. Applications must be received by April 15. For additional information, inquiries should be directed to Kim Bonner at (478) 986-8126 or

Download the Tri-County EMC Scholarship Application (.pdf)